GRI Standards Exam

​Demonstrate your knowledge of the GRI Standards' Content and structure.


 GRI Standards Exam

In line with the transition from the G4 Guidelines to GRI Sustainability Reporting Standards (GRI Standards), GRI has replaced the G4 Exam with the GRI Standards Exam as of 1 July 2017. Interested candidates are able to take the GRI Standards Exam as of that date. 
The GRI Standards Exam consists of 40 multiple-choice questions and will test the knowledge of the exam candidate on the understanding of the key concepts and the structure of the GRI Standards, and their ability to navigate throughout the Standards to find the required information.

To gain this knowledge, first-time reporters are encouraged to  take a GRI Certified Training Standards course through one of GRI’s Certified Training Partners. All course participants will receive a 20% discount on their exam fee.
During the exam, the candidates will have access to a non-searchable pdf copy of a consolidated version of the GRI Standards. There is only one correct answer per question and the minimum passing score is 75%.
All successful candidates will receive a GRI Standards Exam Certificate of Achievement, confirming that they have passed and their names will be listed on the GRI website.  
Individuals who do not pass the exam are allowed to retake it. There is a cooldown period of 30 days between each attempt, and a maximum of three attempts in 6 months. The pricing and policy remain the same for those retaking the exam.  
For any further questions, please contact

 Registration for GRI Standards Exam

The GRI Standards Exam is available on GRI’s online learning platform, allowing candidates to take the exam from any location with internet access (a webcam and a microphone are also required).

Please watch the video below with all the instructions regarding registering on the platform and installing the software required for the exam. Please also carefully go through the Step-by-step instructions before starting with the exam.



The Exam fees is different for OECD and non-OECD countries. GRI Community members and GRI Certified Training Course participants receive specific discounts as stated in the pricing table below:
Payment for the exam is done through PayPal, either through a PayPal account or by credit card. For questions or inquires related to payments, please contact us at
For more details on registration procedures and exam policies please read the GRI Standards Exam FAQs.



 GRI Standards Exam Resources


The main resource to prepare for the GRI Standards Exam are: GRI Sustainability Reporting Standards.

During the exam, candidates will have access to a non-searchable pdf copy of a consolidated version of the GRI Standards.

Recommended additional resources:

GRI Standards Certified Training Course: The aim of the course is for the participants to understand how to use the GRI Standards for the sustainability reporting process.


 G4 Exam

The G4 Guidelines have been superseded by the GRI Standards, effective 30 June 2018. All G4 Exam Certificates remain valid until their expiry date. GRI recognizes and acknowledges this achievement by continuing to list the successful G4 Exam candidates on the website until their certificates expire.