Board of Directors

GRI’s governance bodies are designed to maintain multi-stakeholder representation. The Board of Directors (Board) has the ultimate fiduciary, financial and legal responsibility for GRI, including final decision-making authority on its organizational governance and long‐term strategy.

Appointments to the Board are on a voluntary basis and members serve a term of three years. The membership is refreshed on an regular basis with a global public call for applications. 

Members of the Board


Mr. Eric Hespenheide

Chairman of the GRI Board of Directors, USA


Mr. Olaf Brugman

Rabobank, Executive Director, Head of Sustainable Capital Markets, Brazil


Ms. Özlem Denizmen

Dogus Group, Social Investments Executive Vice President, Turkey


Mr. Jack Ehnes

The California State Teachers Employees' Retirement System (CalSTRS), Chief Executive Officer, USA 


Mr. Eelco van der Enden

PwC, Partner, Netherlands


Ms. Jessica Fries

A4S, Chief Executive, UK


Mr. Lance Gokongwei

President and Chief Executive, JG Summit Holdings, Philippines


Ms. Molly Harris Olson

Fairtrade Australia, CEO, Australia


Ms. Connie Lindsey

Northern Trust, Executive VP and Head of CSR and Global Diversity & Inclusion, USA


Dr. Jianzhong Lu

Weir Group, China President, China


Ms. Bekeme Masade- Olowola

CSR-in-action, Executive Director, Nigeria


Mr. Kevin McKinley

Canadian Network of Agencies for Regulation, CEO, Canada


Ms. Meredith Miller

Chief Corporate Governance Officer at UAW Retiree Medical Benefits Trust, USA​


Mr. Jyrki Raina

Global Industrial Relations Expert, Finland


Mr. Girish Ramachandran

Tata Consultancy Services Asia Pacific, President, Singapore