Sector Program

Sectors share common activities impacting the economy, environment, and society.

More consistent reporting on sector-specific impacts increases transparency and accountability for the issues that matter most. It can drive targeted action and decision-making that helps improve the impacts of organizations, while enhancing their contribution to sustainable development. 

The GRI Sector Program will develop standards for 40 sectors, starting with those that have the highest impact.  They are a new addition to the family of GRI Standards, completing and strengthening the current framework.

Read the program overview to learn more.

Reporting with the Sector Standards

The GRI Sector Standards are designed to help identify a sector's most significant impacts and reflect stakeholder expectations for sustainability reporting. They describe the sustainability context for a sector, outline topics that are likely material for an organization based on the sector’s significant impacts, and list disclosure that are relevant for the sector to report. 

The updated Universal Standards, which will launch later this year, will remain the starting point for all GRI reporting prior to using the Sector Standard(s) when determining their material topics increasing transparency and relevancy of their sustainability reporting. ​ 

Oil and gas, coal, agriculture, aquaculture, and fishing are the first sectors prioritized under the Sector Program based on their significant environmental, social and economic impacts.​ They underpin the design and approach of the GRI Sector Standards. ​


The development of a fourth standard focused on the mining sector is underway. Recruitment is now open for the Working Group. Visit the project page to learn more about how you can get involved. 

The public consultation period for the exposure drafts for coal and agriculture, aquaculture, and fishing has concluded. You can access a record of each sector's public comments via the tiles below.

The first Sector Standard – GRI 11: Oil and Gas Sector -  is currently being reviewed for approval and will become available for public use in October 2021. 


G4 Sector Disclosures

Consult our FAQ on GRI’s previous sector-specific reporting guidance, the G4 Sector Disclosures.

Never miss an update

If you are interested in the Sector Standards Program or the Standards, please contact us to sign up for updates.

Sign up